I’ve Got to Start Somewhere

1

June 4, 2012 by fitterfatty

Everyone starts somewhere. That has been my mantra for the last 5 months. It is what I told myself when I weighed in for the weight-loss challenge at work. The numbers on the scale where embarrassing, but I knew that I wouldn’t see them again. It is what I told myself when I couldn’t run a block without feeling like Large Marge I needed to walk/rest. It is what I told myself when I signed up for my first 5k, which turned out to be a 5 mile run because I accidentally registered for the wrong race. It is what I told myself when I ran my first 10k. And now, 55 pounds lighter… it is what I am telling myself again as I am getting ready to run my first half marathon June 30. I will be running the High Desert Trail Run in Pearl. I guess it will be good to have a baseline, and it is exciting that every new race/distance I try will be a new PR. I am hoping that by starting a blog, I will have a space to figure out what works and doesn’t work for me in my training since I am still so new to running. I am hoping to meet others who can offer insight and possibly company on some long runs.

Me on week 1, day 1 of the couch to 5k plan.

One thought on “I’ve Got to Start Somewhere

  1. Sarah says:

    I am so proud of you, it makes me teary. I look up to you, mama. xo

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

June 2012
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  
