Packet Pick Up

1

June 28, 2012 by fitterfatty

I stopped in to Shu’s today to pick up my race packet for this Saturday’s trail half marathon. There is something a little intimidating about running shops. The people are always so friendly and ridiculously chiseled. I had a million questions about gear/fuel. Logically, I know they are happy to help (well, at the very least they are paid to help), however I have this unsettling feeling that I am going to get found out: I’m a mediocre middle-of-the-packer. It’s true. Now that it’s out there, I may as well go ask my questions.

Some of my biggest questions are regarding some of the fancy fueling options. So far, on my long runs I just cut up one cliff bar and eat chunks every now and again, then wash it down with water. I know that it is important to maintain my blood sugar and electrolyte balance. I guess I need to just do some trial and error on my training runs to see what works with my gut. I am not going to grab a gu or bean or slurpie or squeezie or blok to try this weekend. I don’t want to sh*t my mesh shorts liner in the hills of a ghost town. However, I am not opposed to going through that if I am within 10 miles of my house. I will be sure to make a post just about fueling, once I get it worked out.

The workout: 7.1 miles/64 min = 9:01 pace; 1 hr crossfit

One thought on “Packet Pick Up

  1. Sarah says:

    THIS Saturday?! Woo! Lots of luck. And cut off cliff bars = genius.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

June 2012
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  
