Lions and Tigers and Dogs

1

July 22, 2012 by fitterfatty

I am fortunate to have a job that requires much less time working in the summer. I do have some work, but it is much more flexible, and for some reason they keep paying me. 

I was working on a guest lecture for a local university this week, when I got a call from my dad. He was looking for an excuse to heckle some wildlife. So, I rounded up my own litter, and this is what we did: 

ImageI

I went for a six-mile run and took the kids to the zoo, all within my “work day”. Sweet huh. The majority of my caseload is made up of school-aged kids, who get services at school…so, the whole summer break thing pretty much works in my favor.

I ran 44 miles this week. Which I haven’t ever done before. I had my longest run yet yesterday (18 miles), and felt pretty strong finishing it. I just need to work on my speed/strength. When I got home from my long run, the stars aligned and I somehow managed to get both the boys down for a nap at the same time. I thought I was going to score a nap, but my endorphins had other plans. Instead I just snuggled this guy:

Image

I wanted to practice running on tired legs today, so I ran a 7 mile out and back through a hilly golf course. I went early in the morning so although it felt pretty brutal, it was beautiful and still pretty cool. I will be most definitely taking tomorrow off.

It is really nice that sometimes I get runs to myself, without the boys. Not because I need the alone time, but when I get home they are always so happy to see me; like I have been gone for a week. I feel really popular. So, of course we have some serious floor time aka stretch/tickle party/mess with any running item not attached to my body. My sunglasses were today’s hot commodity.

Image

Image

One thought on “Lions and Tigers and Dogs

  1. Sarah says:

    You’re beyond awesome and those boys are lucky to grow up with such a kick-ass mom. 44 MILES in a week!!!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

July 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
